top of page

Ashtanga Ayurveda

8 branches (disciplines) of Ayurveda

What is Ayurveda?

Ayurveda means "the knowledge of (long) life" and is one of the oldest surviving life sciences with tradition from India.


It was shaped by many thinkers, philosophers and researchers and initially only passed on orally until it was written down in the Charaka Samhita about 3000 years ago.

The aim of Ayurveda is the maintenance and promotion of health (prevention) and the elimination of illness by restoring the balance of body, mind and spirit.












Thereby 3 functional principles (= doshas) Vata, Pitta, Kapha play a central role. They work in the body, psyche, nature, time of year, time of day… .Each person has his own composition of these 3 doshas. In order to maintain a normal, healthy function of our body, it is important that this "basic constitution" remains in balance; taking into account the respective constitution, the imbalance, the season, the environment (social, professional) and much more.

Each therapy is developed individually with the client, tailored to him and re-adjusted depending on the needs / circumstances. Not only the symptoms are treated, but targeted measures to eliminate the cause are defined and  Implemented step by step.

In Ayurveda, health does not only mean that there is no disease, but that everything is in balance such as the doshas, metabolism, tissue quality, excretory functions, sensory organs, mental satisfaction, being at peace with oneself. A substance is also considered a drug if it is able to eliminate diseases without causing new ones.

Are you curious and want to know more about Ayurveda or try Ayurveda preventively or do you have any complaints? Then I look forward to hearing from you, be it for a massage, nutritional advice or a medical matter….







bottom of page